Power Breakfast

Have you ever heard it said that breakfast is the most important meal of the day? Well, I believe it. I feel so much better if I start my day with good nutrition. Today’s recipe is somewhat of a combo; a juice and a breakfast bread recipe. The “POWER” comes from the avocado and the green juice. The strength comes from the 2 fried eggs atop the piece of Ezekiel bread (PROTEIN). Now, I know that sounds like a lot of food, but it’s all good for you. You’re even getting a serving of fruits and veggies in at breakfast!

You really can’t go wrong when it comes to juicing. No juicer needed for this recipe. You can choose to use a strainer after blending to get the true “juice” experience, or you can choose to drink the pulp for an extra dose of fiber. So here’s the exact recipe for the juice pictured above:

  • A handful of super greens (kale, spinach, watercress, beets greens, etc.) I chose a mixture of spinach and kale. Adding beet greens to any mixture is always a great idea, they’re really good for you. They do not change the taste, I promise:)
  • 1/2 stalk of celery
  • 1/4 cup of cherries (I use organic frozen cherries.)
  • 5 chunks of pineapple (average sized chunks-1 inch cubes, not slices)

Place these ingredients in a blender, cover with filtered water, and blend. Blending times will vary with blenders. I blend mine until it’s a uniform green color. At this point you would need to decide if you want to strain off the pulp or leave it. My blender leaves very little pulp, so I drink it ( I like the added fiber). I joke that this juice is like an IV of liquid power. I feel so energized after drinking it!

I made pre-packaged bags of this combo and gave to my niece to drink while she was going through chemo. There were days when she couldn’t drink it all, but there were days where she could, and needed to due to the effects of the chemo and steroids. The combinations of treatment were rough on her digestion and made it difficult at times to be regular, so the extra fiber was helpful.

Okay, on to the breakfast bread. My breakfast bread starts with a slice of Ezekiel bread. I love to make it homemade, but my current schedule doesn’t allow for that. So, I buy it here: http://www.breadbeckers.com/. I live about 30 minutes from this particular store and enjoy my trips to stock up on Ezekiel bread and all the other goodies I can find there. You can also purchase the frozen variety at local grocery stores, but I prefer fresh. I top my Ezekiel bread with 2 good old-fashioned fried eggs. I use local farm fresh eggs and avocado oil for frying. Avocado oil has an unusually high concentration of beta-sitosterol, a type of cholesterol which our bodies can use to convert less healthy fats into forms which are more usable and less damaging to cells. Avocado also has anti-inflammatory properties and can help to prevent damage to arterial walls which may in turn lower the risk of heart disease caused by plaque deposits. Atop my egg, I slice 1/2 of an avocado, and 1 small Campari tomato. (You can use any type of tomato, I just like the Campari’s because of their low acidity.) To that I add fresh ground pepper and oregano, as much as I want!  This breakfast is loaded with healthy fats from the avocado, lycopene from the tomato, and tons of minerals from the black pepper and oregano. I love to research how proper nutrition can aid in healing the body. Click here for an article on the benefits of the mineral manganese and heart health. It is from, what I consider a reputable source, the American Heart Society.

Well, there you have it,  A POWER BREAKFAST! Now you can go be superwoman…..or superman:)

-Mary

 

*** Information contained within this blog is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

 

Published by

Bruce Chiropractic Wellness Center

Bruce Chiropractic Wellness Center is located in the heart of the downtown district of Ball Ground, Georgia. With over 18 years of knowledge in the wellness field, our healthcare staff is dedicated to providing you an unsurpassed patient experience. Our diversified treatment options allows you, the patient, to experience optimal improvement by varying the treatment according your unique physical needs.