Day 1 of 31

WOW! It was really hard to decide which recipe to start this PINK inspired recipe month. But as I watched the weather forecast for North Georgia, it became clear. I love chilly mornings, my favorite coffee cup filled with coffee and homemade pumpkin spice creamer, a cozy blanket, and my chair and ottoman on my screened-in porch. So, I’m sharing a homemade creamer recipe for day 1. This is a recipe that Lisa introduced to me a few years ago. You can add your favorite natural sweetener (honey, maple syrup, or coconut sugar), or you can froth this recipe and treat yourself to a nice latte inspired coffee. I’m sure it would also be good in tea, I’m just a coffee kind of girl. Check out all the add-ins and try different combos. The simplicity of the main ingredients of this creamer make it so easy. Not to mention, no preservatives for those fighting the fight.

Thank you for joining us for these 31 days. We look forward to all the days ahead. We hope to have a few special guests join us throughout the month. So here it is:

HEALTHY HOMEMADE CREAMER

Tons of folks love flavored creamers, but we all know that they’re just not good for you. You can easily make your own and alleviate all the chemicals and preservatives in the store bought kind.

Here’s a good basic recipe that can be added to in order to make any flavored creamer that you want.  I use an egg in my creamers, but if you don’t like using raw eggs feel free to leave it out.  (You can buy pasteurized eggs if you want the added protein of the egg but are concerned about the safety of raw eggs. I personally use local, free-range, farm fresh eggs, thanks to my sweet friend Shirley!)

Basic recipe:
1 can unsweetened coconut milk (Do not use lite coconut milk, you need the healthy fat. Organic is always your best bet. Thia Kitchen and Native Forest are great brands. Look for BPA free can.)
1 – 2 Tabs coconut oil

1 egg         

Get out your trusty Immersion blender and mix it all up.  That’s it!!

Add ins:
Vanilla extract
100% maple syrup                                                                                                                                             Honey
Coconut sugar
Peppermint extract
Almond extract
2 Tabs. Unsweetened pureed pumpkin
Pumpkin Pie spice
2 Tabs. Unsweetened cocoa powder
Stevia, Xylitol or other non chemical based sweetener

This recipe will keep in the fridge about 4 to 5 day. I use several large spoonfuls in my coffee because I like a creamy coffee. Just use the amount that suits your taste.

 

Published by

Bruce Chiropractic Wellness Center

Bruce Chiropractic Wellness Center is located in the heart of the downtown district of Ball Ground, Georgia. With over 18 years of knowledge in the wellness field, our healthcare staff is dedicated to providing you an unsurpassed patient experience. Our diversified treatment options allows you, the patient, to experience optimal improvement by varying the treatment according your unique physical needs.